Music for


Proudly heading into its 41st International Concert Season, MfG is still a leader in classical music development in Ireland. We programme an annual series of concerts, artistically unique festivals and provide unparalleled experiences for artists and audiences. We collaborate with major orchestras, choirs, ensembles and soloists and we reach out to new audiences. With the University of Galway we provide bespoke professional developments for music students in Galway.

Having increased MfG’s capacity for Galway 2020 and launched a new, acclaimed triennial festival CELLISSIMO, our challenge is to sustain an expanded programme underpinned by robust organisational structures.

MfG has presented internationally renowned artists such as Yehudi Menuhin, Nigel Kennedy, the Halle Orchestra, Barry Douglas, Evelyn Glennie, Emma Johnson, Nicola Benedetti, Wolfgang Holzmair and Peter Donohue. It collaborates regularly with the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, RTÉ Concert Orchestra, Irish Chamber Orchestra, Irish Baroque Orchestra, and Irish National Opera. It was instrumental in setting up ConTempo, the Galway Ensemble in Residence, at the heart of the Galway Music Residency.

Conceived in 1981 to provide access to international and national classical musical experiences for local audiences, which were largely unavailable outside of Dublin city at the time, we have become a valued music resource organisation. Founding members were Tony Broderick, Deirdre Comerford, Jimmy Higgins, Angela O'Keefe, Jane O'Leary, Erika Casey, Gerry Lee, Joyce Killeen, Joe O'Halloran and Breandan Ó Madagáin.

Besides promoting concerts, MfG has developed music as an art form through many activities: the organisation supports musicians by providing a platform to perform, it commissions composers, it is increasingly active in programming for children, and advocates for proper infrastructure for music in the West.

The MfG team:

CEO: Anna Lardi

Artistic Director: Finghin Collins

Administrator: Suzanne Black

Social Media: Camille Twomey

Outreach Officer: Mary Deely