The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra plays a central role in Irish musical life through year-long programmes of live performances of music ranging from symphonic, choral and operatic to film and popular music, contemporary traditional and contemporary classical and music; schools and educational projects; a mentoring scheme for young musicians; broadcasts on RTÉ and internationally through the European Broadcasting Union; recordings and new commissions. The orchestra has been critically acclaimed for its recordings on the Marco Polo, Naxos, Claves and RTÉ lyric fm labels.

World famous artists with whom the orchestra has worked include Boris Berezovsky, Sarah Chang, Nikolai Demidenko, Sir James Galway, Angela Gheorgiu, Evelyn Glennie, Angela Hewitt, Daniel Hope, Wolfgang Holzmair, Kiri te Kanawa, Freddy Kempf, Tasmin Little, Daniel Müller-Schott, Julian Rachlin, Alexander Toradze, Maxim Vengerov and Nikolaj Znaider.

Highlights of the 2019-2020 Season include, under Chief Conductor Jaime Martín, symphonies by Mahler (No. 3) and Shostakovich (No. 10), concertos by Prokofiev (Violin Concerto with Viktoria Mullova) and Rachmaninov (Piano Concerto No. 3 with Denis Kozhukhin) works by Irish composers Elaine Agnew (Make A Wish) and Ian Wilson (Man-o’-War) and, with Principal Guest Conductor Nathalie Stutzmann, works by Beethoven (Piano Concerto No. 4 with Boris Giltburg), Bruckner (Symphony No. 7), Bruch (Violin Concerto with Daniel Lozakovich), Richard Strauss (Also sprach Zarathustra) and Wagner (Prelude and Good Friday music from Parsifal).

Profile details